Silver Thimble Award

The Silver Thimble Award is an honor that may be given to a member of Las Colcheras Quilt Guild each year.  It belongs to someone who has contributed more than her share to make the wheels turn smoothly in this organization and she is chosen by the outgoing President.  The guild president  may choose the award recipient or can ask the  guild members for  recommendations 



.Silver Thimble Award Recipient 2023

Denise Caffey

During our Covid shut down there was no opportunity to award the Silver Thimble, our last award having been in 2020. As Co-Presidents for 2023 Dianne and I decided we wanted to issue the award. Denise Caffey was an easy choice. While she happens to be a friend to both of us, she is also a very worthy recipient. Denise came to her first guild meeting in early 2016 and just happened to take a seat next to Dianne Herrmann. During the course of the meeting, they discovered that they lived blocks from each other and were both recent residents of Las Cruces. Denise came to us from Kansas City where she and her husband lived and still have a home. Her first year here she volunteered for the quilt show and has done so for almost every show since then. She has served as guild and quilt show treasurer, vendor coordinator for the show and now serves as Sunshine/Correspondence Chair. She is a member of Loose Threads, our community service bee and works with Frances Campbell for Community Outreach. She received her award at the February meeting in her usual humble manner. Congratulations Denise.

~Submitted by Gail Carney

Past Silver Thimble Recipients

2023 Denise Caffey
2020  Irma Giron
2019  Dianne Herrmann
2018  Josephina Chavez
2017  Elaine Doornbos
2016  Libby Pruett
2015  Frances Campbell
2014  Cheryl Price

2013  Becky LeRoy
2012  Hattie Geisel
2010  Linnea Egbert
2009  Mary McKinney
2008  Rosemary Maddox
2007  Irene Davenport
2006  Pam Maddox